Homebuilt bondwood - "Griffin's Den II"

Photos and Information on Members Caravans. This a great place to introduce yourself.
griffin

Homebuilt bondwood - "Griffin's Den II"

Post by griffin »

Recently a chance came up on eBay to purchase an older, apparently homebuilt bondwood caravan, about 16 foot long, unknown age, but described as 1940-50ish, located in Victoria. That in itself was a problem as there was no way I could get to look at it, but I studied the photos, rang the seller and asked lots of questions trying to satisfy myself everything was as it seemed. I was put onto other vintage caravan owners who lived in the same town and were prepared to have a look at it for me so after they advised it was good and sound, and as good as it looked I went for the ‘buy it now’ button and became a bondwood owner.

An agonising wait of another month ensued before I could get down there to pick it up, and the seller was fine with that before I bought it. I had intended to pick it up with the Velox, but the longer it went the more I thought that might be unwise as the weight was unknown, but it was known that it had nothing in the brake department other than a handbrake. My son in law had offered his 4 x 4 Toyota 3 litre diesel ute if I ever needed it to tow a van so I put him to the test and booked it up for early in August.

With an assortment of tools, big bits of wood, little bits of wood, screws, cable ties, jacks, 2 x 16” spare wheels, yards of rope and what seemed to be a host of odds and sods we set off for Whittlesea, Victoria. We stayed with the Good Samaritan assessors in Whittlesea, Ian and Robyn, and I hoped I’d be able to get a look at the van on the afternoon we arrived. That wasn’t to be as the seller was otherwise occupied with his business, but he would tow it to his workshop in the morning for 9.30.