1953 homebuilt van by Aubrey Parsons.

A Photo History of old Family Caravanning photos or just old photos of caravans.
griffin

1953 homebuilt van by Aubrey Parsons.

Post by griffin »

One of the fun things about attending an outing like the Motorfest display on Australia day is the amount of people you get to talk to who have had or still have a connection to caravans.

Several people were talking to me about vans their fathers had owned or built, and Graeme Parsons was one of them, he kindly forwarded some photos of his father’s van during construction and later on a couple of trips.

His father, Aubrey Parsons, was a plumber by trade who could turn his hand to anything. His business was located at 673 Botany Road, Rosebery and he lived in the street behind. The van was built in 1953-4 in his workshop seems to have been his own design.
673 Botany Rd.JPG
673 Botany Rd.JPG (59.71 KiB) Viewed 2315 times

The photos of the construction show it had an interesting chassis, with the main rails tapered at the ends with cut-outs to remove weight. Graeme, who was about 12 at the time it was built, remembers helping his father and said he had the equipment and skills to fabricate the chassis and the body of the van. None of the chassis suppliers I’ve seen advertising for have ever showed such innovation. The van was plywood, fitted with vacuum brakes and was initially towed with a Morris 10 which he rebuilt after being written off, after the previous owner had an argument with a train! The Morris wasn’t up to the job and it was replaced with a Vanguard.
The finished product was called “Karingal”, an Aboriginal word for happy home or camp and there are photos of it at a Caravan Club of Australia meeting at East's Beach in 1955 and closer to home at Palm Beach the same year.
The van was used for about 10 years and then replaced with a 12ft Millard and later a 16ft Millard.